AMMC › AHA Announces Barry Davis as 2023 A. Allen Weintraub Memorial Award Winner

AHA Announces Barry Davis as 2023 A. Allen Weintraub Memorial Award Winner

Home | News | AHA Announces Barry Davis as 2023 A. Allen Weintraub Memorial Award Winner

The Arkansas Hospital Association (AHA) is pleased to announce Barry Davis, FACHE, as the 2023 recipient of the prestigious A. Allen Weintraub Memorial Award, a distinction that stands as a testament to the legacy of the much beloved Allen Weintraub and his dedication to health care and community service.

Barry Davis has been selected as this year’s recipient of the A. Allen Weintraub Memorial Award for his noteworthy contributions to health care in Arkansas. He is a shining example of excellence in hospital administration, with 42 years of service at Arkansas Methodist Medical Center (AMMC) in Paragould. He began his career there as plant manager, with a newly minted degree in public administration from Lyon College, and he retired as CEO earlier this year after 11 years in that role.

Mr. Davis is known for his leadership not only at AMMC but also as a civic leader in Northeast Arkansas, where anyone who has served alongside him will tell you that he has given selflessly to making the state – and especially its health care system – the best it can be. From his work with the Paragould Economic Development Council, the Northeast Arkansas Workforce Investment Board, and the Paragould Regional Chamber of Commerce to the board of directors of the Arkansas Hospital Association and the American College of Healthcare Executives, the impact of his leadership has been significant.

The A. Allen Weintraub Memorial Award is the highest accolade bestowed upon an individual by the AHA. This award recognizes hospital administrators who exemplify the qualities and values embodied by Mr. Weintraub during his remarkable career, as longtime administrator of St. Vincent Infirmary Medical Center in Little Rock. Allen Weintraub was not only active in state and national hospital and health care affairs, but he was also an unwavering civic advocate, serving as an inspiration to all those who had the privilege of working alongside him. Throughout his career, he demonstrated a profound care and concern for hospital patients, employees, and the community at large. His commitment to quality health care for the people of Arkansas, his sense of duty to the community, and his visionary influence continue to inspire health care leaders to this day.

The AHA extends its heartfelt congratulations to Barry Davis, 2023 A. Allen Weintraub Memorial Award recipient, for his extraordinary dedication to the health care industry and for his unwavering commitment to the well-being of Arkansans.